Lost: purple Gucci sunglasses from Lucca, Italy

Just before the doors opened for the Glass Vase Concert on Sunday 23rd May 2010, I noticed that I wasn’t wearing my purple Gucci sunglasses. The flood of people streaming in, first the musicians and then the early birds distracted me from looking for those beloved sunglasses. It was a day for wearing sunglasses, for the sun was direct and bold while the wind tame and nearly absent.

Just before the doors opened for the Glass Vase Concert on Sunday 23rd May 2010, I noticed that I wasn’t wearing my purple Gucci sunglasses. I was walking in and out of the house on a busy and important day, one that had taken over my life for a few weeks.

I had bought the pair at midnight in July 2007 before going to the Contemporary Music Festival in Cortona, Italy. The Italian saleswoman was clever to get my prescription fitted within 2 hours.

The flood of people streaming in, first the musicians and then the early birds, distracted me from looking for those beloved sunglasses. It was a day for wearing sunglasses, for the sun was direct and bold while the wind tame and nearly absent.

Only a few days earlier, I had taken a photo with those sunglasses of my reflection and the garden house in my friend’s sunglasses.

Reflection of Anne Ku in friend's sun glasses in May 2010
Reflection of Anne Ku in friend's sun glasses in May 2010

Below is a photo of me with the Gucci sunglasses in Paris in summer of 2009.

Anne Ku wearing Gucci sunglasses in Paris, August 2009
Anne Ku wearing Gucci sunglasses in Paris, August 200

The Gucci sunglasses case sat in the bookshelf. It was empty. I was sure I had left my sunglasses on the piano.

The next morning, Monday 24th May, I noticed a pair of clip-on sunglasses sitting on my grand piano. Did someone take my purple sunglasses by mistake or swapped for the clip-ons which I can’t use?

Clip-on sunglasses left at the Glass Vase Concert on 23rd May 2010
Clip-on sunglasses left at the Glass Vase Concert on 23rd May 2010

I wondered about the swap, for someone else had taken the wrong violin bow by accident. Maybe these are independent events.

Left on a wooden garden bench was a black fleece jacket (medium size) with Patagonia label and gloves in pockets. I shall have to e-mail all the guests if they have forgotten the jacket and clip-on sunglasses.

Black fleece jacket left at Glass Vase Concert in back garden
Black fleece jacket left at Glass Vase Concert in back garden

and the gloves….

AOG fleece gloves in pocket of Patagonia fleece jacket
AOG fleece gloves in pocket of Patagonia fleece jacket

Author: BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.

2 thoughts on “Lost: purple Gucci sunglasses from Lucca, Italy”

Leave a Reply

