Being online is a full-time job

I think twice about switching on my Mac powerbook and going online. There are several reasons for this hesitation. The biggest one is that it’s hard to switch off. Before long, I am online the entire day.

I think twice about switching on my Mac powerbook and going online. There are several reasons for this hesitation. The biggest one is that it’s hard to switch off. Before long, I am online the entire day.

Take today, for instance.

Just after 3 pm, I turned on the computer to get the addresses of the two enthusiastic fans who wanted to order signed copies of our new duo CD. I logged into Naxos CD Online so I could listen to Albeniz’ Tango which I played yesterday. I wanted to hear someone else’s interpretation.

While online, I decided to check my Concertblog statistics to see if it would hit 13,000 visitors today. Seeing that it was getting very close, I thought of writing a blog about yesterday’s meeting with an American singer/songwriter and his wife. When I tweeted the resultant blog, I saw a few things on Twitter that lured me to click and read on.

I went into Facebook to see if my tweets propagated. I thanked the friend who introduced me to the singer/songwriter. I thanked her friend and told the short story of how one thing led to another. This is about the Netherlands, Utah, Seattle, and 28 years ago in Okinawa.

I learned a thing or two about social media strategies for musicians and planning recitals, thanks to the clarinettist and blogger that I follow on Twitter. His blog links led me to new websites about how to succeed in the music business, a subject I find wondrously fascinating and remarkably mesmerising.

Many e-mails and several blogs later, it’s 11:28 pm.

There was just a short cycle ride to post one package of CDs to Virginia, a break for noodles and ice cream, and no time to practise the piano.

Author: BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.

3 thoughts on “Being online is a full-time job”

  1. I know the feeling! * sigh * By the way, I traveled to your blog because my friend Melissa Axel posted it on FB. Thanks for sharing a bit about your own version of what I call “getting lost in cyberspace”! Something similar happens to me if I’m focused on biz matters in general surrounding the music (phone calls, production issues, planning etc.), whether they require time online or not. The time for the music practice suddenly decreases until it disappears when I am in such a high gear mode on the biz side. Even my knowledge that 15 minutes on that day would be better than none is brushed aside! However, every now & again, I think it is bound to happen and the best way for me to deal with it has been to recognize it as part of the ebb & flow of life and the “real world”. I try not to let such periods go for “too long” (which is a subjective matter, of course), and then try to rescue myself.

    Rather than stressing about the time “lost”, I try my best to focus on getting back on my horse, whatever that means to me. Last November, I declared Tuesdays a “deadline-free day”. This is a day in which I’m permitted to work, to practice…I don’t have to take time off per se, but I have the freedom to spend that day as I wish and ideally I should have no stress-inducing appointments or deadlines on that day (which does not always happen, but I’ve definitely minimized them!). So if I get lost on the piano or in cyberspace or with laundry (truly exciting) or whatever, it is ok. Whatever I’ve gotten done at the end of the day is OK & I can feel good about it (in theory). I can be more disciplined on other days when I have the GPS set before I hop in the cyberspaceship, because I know that I will have some time coming that is open for “play” or “getting lost”. Easier said than done, but just having incorporated this kind of “playtime/free-time” idea into my routine has been helpful to me, at least.

Leave a Reply

