Turn your home into an art gallery and concert hall


One of the guests at one of our Monument House concerts remarked “I bet everyone who goes to your house concerts want to have one in his/her home. Then they probably dismiss the idea because they think their homes are too small or too inadequate.”

When I first attended a house concert in Houston, Texas, I didn’t think that. Instead I remember thinking — wow! How can I get invited to another house concert? How can I perform in one?

The answer was to organise a concert in my own home.

The grand piano that is no longer there in the Victorian Cottage in London

The grand piano that is no longer there in the Victorian Cottage in London

It didn’t occur to me that my 2-bedroom Victorian cottage in London was too small. A mere 72 square metres (775 square feet), it even accommodated a grand piano in the living room. People sat on the steep stairs. Many sat on the floor or stood near the door. In the summer time, I organised outdoor concerts in my tiny garden. Where there is a will, there is a way. I wanted to play music. I wanted to share.

Funen Park 125, Amsterdam

Funen Park 125, Amsterdam

Erik and Bart probably thought the same. They renovated their 1-bedroom ground floor apartment in Funen Park in Amsterdam to accommodate their passion for the arts. They got rid of their garage and enlarged their living room. If you visit Funen Park 125, you would not think it’s a home for it feels more like a boutique art gallery and concert salon than a living space. They have cleverly managed their space such that they can book musicians a year into the future for their fortnightly Sunday afternoon concert series.

Glass display at Funen Concerts Art Productions, Amsterdam

Glass display at Funen Concerts Art Productions, Amsterdam

Yesterday we gave our second concert at Funen Concerts Art Productions. The colour booklet contained programme notes Erik and Bart had translated into Dutch from the English text we provided. The entire experience of working with these concert producers was very pleasant.

Robert Bekkers at Funen Park 125, Amsterdam

Robert Bekkers at Funen Park 125, Amsterdam

9 Comments

Filed under concert, planning, venues

9 responses to “Turn your home into an art gallery and concert hall

  1. Pingback: Impromptu barbecue and concert for Ayyub Malik’s 75th birthday « Concert Blog

  2. i love to visit art galleries both home and abroad, art has been my life;;.

  3. i really like to visit art galleries because i love every bit of art .-*

  4. Pingback: Concert before a private viewing in Wailuku | Concert Blog

  5. Pingback: Live classical music in art galleries | Maui tips for newcomers

  6. Pingback: Birthday concert in Amsterdam | Concert Blog

  7. I wanted to start making some money off of my blog, how would I go about doing so? What about google adsense or other programs like it?.

  8. Have you considered including several social bookmarking links to these sites. At the very least for facebook.

  9. While in the middle of turning my living room into an art gallery, I decided to Bing this topic, and a link to this article came up. I am even more inspired. I believe in music, poetry art and it’s powerful effect on the human consciousnesses. I plan to open my own art gallery, but it will have to start in my home first. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

