What is stopping you from attending a free concert?

Perhaps this fast-paced society of ours is too fast to stop you to sit down and experience a concert. Perhaps this is exactly the reason why you should.

Today I ran into a music connoisseur and house concerts advocate at the local sports club. Although she has been very busy with her work, she has not stopped encouraging others to go to the concerts I promote.

She said that many international students are curious and interested but are stopped by self-made excuses such as

  • it’s for the rich
  • it’s for the exclusive
  • I won’t feel comfortable there
  • thus it’s not for me.

Coincidentally I received a message from my Linked-In Group (Aficionados of Classical Music) about transforming the traditional concert for a new audience. [How to sell classical music to the masses, Times Online] [Full text of the RPS lecture of Alex Ross in 6-page PDF] This made me pause for thought.

Getting new audiences to traditional concerts requires getting old audiences to invite and encourage them to go. Like the music connoisseur I ran into this morning, music is to be shared. I get little result by telling people to go to a concert I don’t go to. I get much better results by inviting people to go with me. My concert reviews are nearly all written after I’ve gone to a concert with somebody else.

This is not to say that I don’t enjoy going to concerts alone. I do. I nearly always go to concerts alone because I don’t have time to invite someone or wait for someone to decide and meet up with me. We live in a fast paced society. Everyone is busy. That is my assumption

Perhaps this fast-paced society of ours is too fast to stop you to sit down and experience a concert. Perhaps this is exactly the reason why you should.

Ironically our next free concert for the public is given on a day in which the major roads in central Amsterdam are blocked for the “DAM TOT DAM” — a 10-mile race from Zaandam to Amsterdam. It was the same story exactly a year ago when we gave a totally different programme (contemporary). Only 20 people came to this free concert because of this event. But I’m sure given enough notice, Amsterdammers will find ways to circumvent the road and traffic blocks this year.

Next concerts in Amsterdam:

Sunday 19 September 2010 at noon: FREE ENTRY
Bekkers Piano Guitar Duo at Oosterkerk, Amsterdam
Traditional programme: own transcriptions of Queen of Sheba, Winter, and original work for piano guitar – the Grand Potpourri National

Immediately after this concert, I will be giving a house concert with French horn player Emile Kaper at Funen Park 125 a short walk away. This one hour concert of romantic and classical horn works takes place at 15:00. Entrance is 10 euros at the door.

Emile Kaper, French horn
Emile Kaper, French horn

Author: BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.

Leave a Reply

