Music introduced and shared: One Republic


As much as I like to discover music through sightreading sheet music, it is more powerful when introduced by someone else and shared with me.

Today a friend put on the music of “One Republic,” a band I had never heard of. Although meant as background music while I read, I could hardly concentrate on the book I was reading. Instead, I found myself struck by the sticky melodies and catchy tunes of “One Republic.” As I reluctantly peeled my eyes away from my book to listen to the stereo, I stared into the distant Pacific Ocean landscape of Maui and felt myself being carried far, far away.

When “All This Time” came on, I disappeared into a yet to be written romantic novel. I was completely captivated by the music and the lyrics.

Such is the power of music — capable of transporting us away from the present into the past or the future.

I had to hear it again. I checked for the band’s official website and youtube channel. I googled for the lyrics to “All This Time,” and found several websites.

“All This Time” was one of many songs in the TV Series “Vampire Diaries.” One song led to another. Before long, my entire evening was spent listening to music used in that TV Series of adolescent vampire romance and the streaming myspace music player of One Republic.

If I listen to it enough times, I will want to play it.

My next task is to either find the sheet music to “All This Time” or write down the tune and chords by listening to the music. Such is the power of music. Songs develop a new context in the ears of the listener. Exposed enough times, the listener attributes meaning and develops a yearning. Good music is not only sticky but also viral.

Leave a comment

Filed under communication, composer, composition, personality, recording, sheet music, sight reading

Leave a Reply

