Stepping up to yes I can


When I saw the following picture on Facebook, I couldn’t resist posting a blog about its applicability to education.

From I won't do it to Yes, I did it

From I won't do it to Yes, I did it

When required to do it, many of my math students arrive the first day of class with the  attitude of  “I can’t do it.” They have to take math which is a pre-requisite. My goal is to get them to realize that they can do it.

My piano students, on the other hand, arrive with “I want to do it” written all over their faces. These are not music majors so they are not required to take piano. While a humanities elective may be required for their major, they had the freedom to choose music, art, and other subjects. Even within music, they had a choice of guitar, ukelele, choir, and other courses besides piano.

To me, it’s a matter of empowering my students to believe that they can do it. Look at all the steps from “I won’t do it” to “I can do it.” That’s a lot of convincing.

Some are born with the belief that they can do anything.

Others like my mother give the excuse that they can’t do it. What they really mean is that they don’t want to do it. Or so I tell my mom. You’re allowed to say no after a lifetime of yes.

As for me, I’m so used to wanting to do everything that I have to tell myself “don’t do it.” After stepping up to “Yes, I did it. And done that” I have to now sit on the ground floor, and say, “No, no, no! Don’t make me do it.”

Food for thought.

2 Comments

Filed under communication, piano

2 responses to “Stepping up to yes I can

  1. This post has a perfect message for me today! Thanks Anne.

  2. me

    We can do it !!!

Leave a Reply

