Sticky piano music of Yiruma


The first time I heard it on the piano, I thought it was a variation of Einaudi’s music.

When I heard it again, I realized it was something else.

After my piano class, a student from the next class started playing it on the piano just as I was leaving.

“What is it?”

“River flows in you,” she said.

She added, “It’s from Twilight.”

I don’t remember this piece. Who is it by?

The sticky melody caught my attention. It’s been a long time  since I’ve been caught off-guard like this. How could I not know the composer or the title of the work? I have watched all 5 movies of the Twilight Saga and don’t recall this piece at all. The closest one was Carter Burwell’s Bella’s Lullaby, which does not sound like this.

Rather, the piece I heard on the piano was “River Flows in You” by Yiruma, the Korean pianist who has lived in the UK. The sheet music of his works are freely downloadable from his website. Compare the difference, below.

My next step? Check out Yiruma’s music and sightread them all. What is his music so sticky? Maybe that could be project for my students.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under arrangement, composition

2 responses to “Sticky piano music of Yiruma

  1. I can send you the sheets if you like… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Chinese New Year Concert | Concert Blog

Leave a Reply

