Full moon on Maui with lunar eclipse

Full moon on Maui is the title of a piano solo piece composed by Anne Ku after a beautiful sunset in upcountry Maui. The score is available for free. The music can be ordered via CD Baby.


After our kung fu class at the Kahului Community Centre, one classmate announced that the full lunar eclipse was tonight 20th December 2010. But it was too cloudy to see it.

Last night, I watched the DVD of the movie “Eclipse” of the Twilight saga for the second consecutive time. The first movie had me mesmerized in Denver, Colorado.

It’s also the winter solstice. Eight years ago, I was crazy enough to organise a house concert of that name: the Winter Solstice Concert. Two people in the audience fell in love at first sight.

Eleven years ago, when I visited Maui for the first time, I saw a full moon that inspired me greatly. I rushed home to compose a solo piano piece called “Full Moon on Maui” and took it to the Maui-based composer Robert Pollock for feedback. Several years later I played and recorded it on my solo piano CD “in pursuit of flexibility.”

Full moon on Maui by Anne Ku solo piano score
Full moon on Maui by Anne Ku solo piano score

What a coincidence that I am once again on Maui, for the third time in my life, during a full moon.  Only I can’t see it because of the eclipse and the clouds.

Author: BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.

2 thoughts on “Full moon on Maui with lunar eclipse”

Leave a comment