A Thousand Years for easy piano

Anne Ku arranges Christina Perri’s “A Thousand Years” for beginning piano students.


How do you teach complete beginners how to play the piano?

Start with a tune they want to play.

So I searched Pandora and Youtube for the most popular movie themes. Christina Perri’s “A Thousand Years” is one of those sticky melodies that haunts me like the movie Twilight. Although I’ve yet to see Breaking Dawn, I can see why young people like it so much.

The short cut is to search for the sheet music online. However, it’s in a key too challenging for most beginners. Plus there are too many notes. Too much variety.

So I reduced it from 6/8 time to 3/4 time and transposed into the white key of C.

The result is something quite do-able, particularly with added fingerings. Of course, it’s always possible to simplify this further still. I will assign my students to figure how how it ends.

A Thousand Years for easy piano arranged by Anne Ku
A Thousand Years for easy piano

Author: BLOGmaiden

As one of the earliest bloggers (since 1999), I enjoy meeting people who embrace "out-of-the-box" thinking and fear not the unknown. I believe in collaboration for sustainability because it increases stakeholder value.

12 thoughts on “A Thousand Years for easy piano”

  1. hm, can i get the missing part of this one? so that i can learn how to play this one cause i really love to learn how to play a thousand years using this chord. please? thankyu.

Leave a comment